Fried Chicken…Or Not

So its no secret Mondays on this blog are known as NEW RECIPE MONDAYS.

Today, I tried to make fried chicken for the first time.

I got the recipe from What’s Cooking America, and it is as follows..

Ingredients:

2 (2 1/2 to 3 pound) whole frying chicken, cut up for frying*
Salt and freshly-ground black pepper
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups lard or solid vegetable shortening

Preparation:

Place the chicken pieces in a basin of cold water and soak for a few minutes. remove from water and drain well; pat dry with paper towels. Season generously with salt and pepper.

In a large plastic bag, add flour; close the bag and shake to dust the inside of the bag.

In a large deep cast-iron skillet over medium-high heat, melt the lard or shortening and bring to 350 degrees F. (hot but not smoking). To test temperature of oil, drop a pinch of flour into pan; flour should float and sizzle on hot oil. If flour sinks to bottom of pan and disperses, oil is not hot enough for frying.

Beginning with the dark meat dark meat takes longer to cook than white meat), drop the chicken, a few pieces at a time, into the plastic bag; close the bag and shake until the pieces are thoroughly coated. remove pieces from bag, shaking off excess flour, and place into the hot fat. Repeat until all chicken pieces are coated and in the pan. If you do not have a large enough pan, use two pans or cook the chicken in batches. If you fry in batches, preheat the oven to 150 degrees F. to hold the cooked chicken. Do not hold chicken for more than 30 minutes or the chicken will dry out.

Reduce heat to medium; fry the chicken slowly 12 to 15 minutes or until the bottom side of each piece is a rich golden brown. Carefully turn the chicken pieces and continue cooking an additional 12 minutes or until each piece is golden brown on all sides and a meat thermometer registers an internal temperature of 165 degrees F. (juices will run clear when cut with the tip of a knife). Remove from oven and let drain on paper towels.

 

Now I followed the directions to a T.  I did everything it said, but my seasoning was subpar, and my chicken was…..raw.  I ended up cooking it for how long it said and then I baked it on top of that time.  It wasnt dry, because we prefer dark meat, so it was still full of juices.

My husband’s “honest opinion” of the chicken is as quotes…

It’s good, kind of bland, but good.

Now while my pickiest eater did not love it, my other three kids did.

I think this will be a recipe I try when I am not sick.  I literally could not stand at the stove the whole time, I have the chills, and a migraine.  No fever though.

Now, although tomorrow is not a “New Recipe Monday” I will be posting two new convenience foods that I am making from scratch 🙂

3 thoughts on “Fried Chicken…Or Not

  1. My recipe for fried chicken is to do it in the oven

    Preheat oven to 450°

    1/4 Cup veggie oil in a large cast iron skillet
    i wash my chicken then put about 3 cups (or more if needed) in a brown paper bag i place 2-3 pcs of chicken at a time in the bag & shake vigiorously (if the hubby or kid upsets me this usually doesnt take long to complete)
    Place chicken in skillet then in oven bake on 450° for 45 mins turning a little less than half way. I let it bake til the skin is a golden brown.
    By doing it this way you ensure the meat is done completely. Plus you dont have grease splatter all over ur stove top

    • OH MY! Thank you for this! I may try it this way. I dont have a cast iron skillet because I cant use it on my stove top, but I can totally use one in the oven…thank you thank you thank you!

Leave a Reply

